MDT: saving user profiles with USMT

Introduction

In this article, we will have how to back up user profiles with MDT during a deployment. Use of this feature is useful in the following cases:

  • Change of computer of a user.
  • Reinstalling the computer
  • Upgrade version of Windows.

To save the user profiles of a computer, there are 2 solutions (actually much more than MDT is flexible):

  • During the Windows deployment sequence, it is possible to back up the user data that is backed up on the computer and restored or to a network share configured in the customsettings.ini file.
  • Creation of a backup sequence, which can be triggered when starting on the WinPE image or directly from the computer. The restoration is done during the installation.

In this tutorial, I do not go into the details of the task sequences. To make this tutorial, we must already “master” MDT.

When installing ADK on the MDT server, USMT must have been installed.

Saving profiles

Since deployment

During the deployment sequence, in the Move Data and Settings window, select the option Move user data and settings 1 .

Select move user data

During the installation, we can see in the progress the actions of backups and restoration.

Backup during install

The profiles are restored on the new installation.

Backup by a task sequence

On a server created a share for storing backups.

shared folder

On the MDT console, create a task sequence of type Standard Client Replace Task Sequence 1 .

Task template

Once the task is created, run it, starting on the MDT WinPE or from the computer to be backed up, run the LiteTouch.vbs file that is in the Scripts folder that is in the MDT shared folder.

LiteTouch

Select the sequence created previously, on the User Data page, select Specify a location 1 and enter the UNC path of the shared folder and the backup folder 2 .

A second window appears for the full computer backup (WIM image), select the option Do not back up the existing computer

In the shared folder, USMT.MIG file will be created with profile data.

To restore data during deployment, specify the backup UNC path in the User Data (Restore) window.

User profiles will be restored.

Conclusion

The use of profile backup functionality with MDT allows teams in charge of changing / deploying workstations to be able to save a lot of time with automatic backup and restore of profiles.

Despite this backup automatically certainly application like Firefox recreating a profile, in this case just move the data.



Related Posts


Veeam : Automatically backup virtual machines on Hyper-V

In this tutorial, I'll explain how to automatically back up virtual machines (new and existing) with Veeam and Hyper-V. The trick is to use the option to back up the volume in Veeam job sources instea

MDT: use with a database

In this tutorial, we will see how to use MDT with a database. The use of this one makes it possible to store in a database the information of deployment for a station to identify for example by its MA

Enable Windows Active Directory Recycle Bin 2012/2016/2019

Introduction The Active Directory Recycle Bin is a feature that came with Windows 2008R2, which is disabled by default. To activate the recycle bin, the domain and drill level must be at least 2008R2.

Scroll to Top